Volta Timeline

Volta: how a company with nothing on 9 January had a site, a customer, chips and a US$2.4bn round by 4 August

For Wendy and Terrence. Sections 1 to 4 are the read. The appendix carries the money, the board, the timeline by lane, what is not executed and what is deduced. Written from the filings: Companies House, Bitdeer's SEC filings, the Norwegian register, Volta's 4 August release, a16z's statement, Bloomberg on the customer. Rewritten 8 September 2026.

In five lines

  1. Volta Infrastructure was incorporated in London on 9 January 2026 with £1. By 4 August it had a 121 MW site under lease, a customer contract with a leading AI lab, NVIDIA and Dell as suppliers and shareholders, about US$1.3bn of bank letters of credit arranged, a US$5bn chip programme announced, and US$283mm of equity raised, the last of it at a US$2.15bn pre-money.
  2. It worked because nobody had to go first. The lease, the round, the customer, the bank letters and the chip programme were each signed or arranged on condition of the others, negotiated in parallel from February, and closed inside six weeks from 25 June.
  3. Money was in from day one as a convertible loan from Azora, an infrastructure asset manager affiliated with one of the co-founders, so the team was being hired from January, and by March the site, the vendors, the investors and the bank were all being worked at once.
  4. What the record does not show is how the chips are paid for. The US$5bn chip programme has no vehicle, terms or money filed. That is the single biggest piece, and the one we still have to solve ourselves.
  5. The customer signed with a six-month-old company because dated capacity was the scarce thing, and Volta had delivery dates.

1. What happened: the events that mattered

#DateWhat happenedWhat it put in place
19 JanVolta is incorporated in the UK with £1. It is funded from the start by a convertible loan from Azora, an infrastructure asset manager affiliated with one of the co-founders.A company with money to operate on day one.
2Jan to JulHiring runs from month one: product and people leads first, an infrastructure engineering head in March, the CTO in April, finance and delivery chiefs by June, capital-markets hires in July. About 100 staff by August.The team that a landlord, a lab and investors would test.
31 FebVolta signs to take Genesis Cloud's software stack and team for shares. Genesis Cloud was a Munich GPU cloud in liquidation since September 2025. Volta's own timeline says the acquisition closed within 65 days of founding. Settled on 25 June with 8,000 shares, US$3.2mm of stock.An operating stack and operators, no cash out.
410 Feb to 14 MayBitdeer, the landlord, says it wants long-term leases at Tydal (10 Feb), is in advanced negotiations with a tenant (16 Mar), announces the 180 MW campus with no tenant named (30 Mar), and is in advanced negotiations with a credit-worthy tenant (14 May).The site being negotiated. Volta is not named until August.
52 and 17 MarVolta's two Norwegian site companies are formed: one to lease the building, one to own the GPUs.The site chosen. Vehicles ready before any priced share.
617 AprSeed first close: the convertible turns into shares, US$8.3mm at US$58/sh. Azora's partner takes the first outside board seat. Second close of US$14.9mm follows by 5 June, most of it cash.US$23mm of seed. A board.
725 JunThe institutional round is signed. The Strategic tranche funds the same day, US$80.7mm at US$500/sh. The Series A price, US$1,769.91/sh, is written into the company's articles. a16z's two directors and Altimeter's one are appointed. The lease with Bitdeer is signed at about the same time, conditional.Everything but the customer.
829 JunBitdeer reports the lease as executed. It is effective only when the tenant's customer and supplier arrangements are complete.A dated site with no obligation yet.
914 to 17 JulThe Series A money comes in: US$134.5mm at US$1,769.91/sh, plus US$40mm more Strategic at US$500/sh.US$283mm of equity in total.
104 AugOut of stealth in one day. Volta announces the customer (a leading AI lab, reported as Anthropic, about US$10bn over six years), NVIDIA and Dell as suppliers and shareholders, about US$1.3bn of letters of credit arranged by J.P. Morgan affiliates and one other bank, the US$5bn chip programme, and J.P. Morgan and Milbank as advisers. Bitdeer names Volta as tenant and gives the terms: 16 years, US$202 per kW per month, 121 MW IT.The customer, the last piece. The lease can now become effective.
1131 Dec 2026, 31 Mar 2027Bitdeer delivers the building in two phases (targets).Revenue starts.

2. How they solved the chicken and the egg

The problem on 9 January:

What existed at each commitment date

#DateWhat was committedWhat existed by thenStill open
11 FebThe Genesis Cloud stack and team, for sharesFounders, the seed loanEverything else
217 AprSeed priced and closed, first outside directorA team forming, the two site companies, Bitdeer in tenant talks since MarchCustomer, lease, chips, institutional money
325 JunThe round signed and the first tranche funded. The lease signed, conditionalTeam. A dated site under a conditional lease. NVIDIA and Dell as suppliers and coming shareholders. The chip programme designed. Seed plus US$80.7mm in, the Series A priced, banks arranging the lettersThe customer
414 to 17 JulSeries A money inAs above, plus the lease reported as executedThe customer, still not public on 21 July
54 AugThe customer contract, announced with everything elseEverythingLetters to be issued. Lease effectiveness to be confirmed

Who was bound to what

#PieceSignedEffective or fundedConditional on
1The lease: Volta's Norwegian site company as tenant, Bitdeer's Tydal Data Center AS as landlordBefore 29 June, when Bitdeer reported itNot yet stated in any filing as of 26 August. Terms published 4 AugustThe tenant's customer and supplier arrangements. Bank letters delivered on milestones, or Bitdeer may terminate
2The round: Strategic plus Series A25 June, both prices fixed that dayStrategic 25 June. Series A 14 to 17 JulyNothing on record. The price was fixed at signing
3The customer contractBetween 29 June and 4 August. Date not on recordAnnounced 4 AugustNot on record
4The letters of credit, about US$1.3bnArranged, not issued, as of 26 AugustNot yetThe customer contract. Customary conditions
5The chip programme, US$5bnDated by Volta to the second quarter. Nothing executed on recordNot yetNot on record

The read

3. Takeaways

  1. 1. Sign everything conditional, in parallel, and close in one window.
    • Each counterparty signs against the others, with its condition written in. Nobody is asked to go first.
    • The site lease is the piece that turns a team into a business. Get it signed first and effective later.
    • The customer is the last signature, and it makes the rest live.
  2. 2. Seed money from day one, spent on the team, is what bought the speed.
    • Money went in as a convertible at incorporation, from Azora, affiliated with a co-founder, and converted at the first priced round. There was no fundraising before the team existed.
    • Hiring ran from month one. On our read there were more than sixteen people by the end of the first quarter, and payroll was already around US$0.5mm per month. By August, at about 100 staff, it was well above that.
    • The operating stack and its people came for stock from a company in liquidation, ten weeks in.
    • The seed's second job: cash on the balance sheet the day the lease and the shareholders' agreement were signed.
  3. 3. Dated capacity is the scarce thing, so speed wins the customer.
    • A lab signed for six years with a company six months old because it had delivery dates, December 2026 and March 2027, vendor supply, an operating team and investors.
    • The tenant's credit was solved by the banks. The customer was not asked to guarantee anything.

4. What is not on the record, and what we still have to solve ourselves

  1. How the chips are paid for. The single biggest thing.
    • Volta raised US$283mm of equity. The chips for 121 MW IT cost about US$5bn.
    • The US$5bn programme with Azora is the answer given, and nothing about it is filed: no vehicle, no terms, no money moved. Volta calls it non-dilutive capital, a16z calls it project equity with senior bank debt, volta.com calls it senior project debt.
    • NVIDIA and Dell took shares and gave no guarantee. A J.P. Morgan-led US$5bn loan was being sounded out in late August, not signed.
    • The Series A investors got comfort on this before they paid. What they were shown cannot be known from outside.
    • For us this is the piece the Volta record does not teach. We have to solve it ourselves.
  2. The customer's signing date. Between 29 June and 4 August.
  3. The lease's effective date. No filing states one.
  4. The letters of credit. Still "anticipated" on 26 August, not issued. Fee, collateral and issuing banks not disclosed.
  5. Who bought which tranche. The filings report by share class, not by buyer.

Appendix A. The money, by round

Pre-money is the round price times the shares in issue before the round.

#DateClassSharesPrice per shareMoney inPre-money
18 AprFounder ordinary476,549US$0.013385US$6,377
217 AprSeed Preferred143,448US$58US$8.32mm, by cancelling Azora's loanUS$27.6mm
317 AprFounder ordinary top-up19,951US$58US$1.16mm, US$0.73mm by set-off
428 Apr to 5 JunSeed Preferred, second close256,552US$58US$14.88mm, US$12.88mm cash and US$2mm by set-offUS$37.1mm
528 Apr to 5 JunOrdinary, non-voting, employees10,431US$58US$0.60mm
628 Apr to 12 JunOrdinary, non-voting, employees17,905US$140.33US$2.51mm
725 JunStrategic Preferred, to Genesis Cloud8,000US$400US$3.2mm, settling the 1 February agreement
825 JunStrategic Preferred155,000US$500US$77.5mmUS$462.4mm
914 to 17 JulStrategic Preferred80,000US$500US$40mm
1014 to 17 JulSeries A Preferred75,992US$1,769.9115US$134.5mmUS$2,153.7mm

Appendix B. The board

Dates are the appointment dates on the register. Seven directors, no resignations.

#DateDirectorSeat
19 JanRicard BoadaCo-founder, on incorporation
217 AprSantiago OlivaresAzora's partner, the first outside seat, the day of the seed first close
325 JunJamin BallAltimeter
425 JunRaghu Raghurama16z
525 JunShangda Xua16z
626 JunSofia GumuzioCo-founder
723 JulJavier Rodríguez-HerediaAzora's managing partner, the seventh seat

Appendix C. The timeline by lane

Every cell starts with who acts.

#DateCapital, cap table and boardSite and leaseCustomer, chips and creditFounders, corporate, team
19 JanBoada incorporates Volta Infrastructure Holdings Ltd in the UK, £1, sole director
21 FebVolta signs an advance subscription agreement with Genesis Cloud GmbH: stack and team for shares
310 FebBitdeer names Tydal a colocation priority: "the goal is to sign long term leases as soon as possible"
42 MarA formation agent forms the shelf company that becomes Volta Tydal AS on 30 JuneVolta's head of infrastructure engineering, ex-Genesis Cloud, joins in March
516 MarBitdeer: "advanced stages of negotiations" for a Tydal tenant, counterparty not named
617 MarA formation agent forms the second shelf company, later Volta Nea AS, chartered to own GPUs and borrow
727 MarBitdeer's Tydal Data Center AS signs the conversion contract, about NOK 4.5bn, completion 31 December 2026
830 MarBitdeer announces its own Tydal building: 180 MW, NVIDIA reference design, built at Bitdeer's cost, no tenant named
917 AprVolta closes the seed first close: US$8.32mm by set-off of Azora's loan, 143,448 shares at US$58/sh. Olivares takes the first outside seat
1028 Apr to 5 JunVolta closes the seed second close, US$14.9mm
1114 MayBitdeer: "advanced stages of negotiations with a credit-worthy colocation tenant for Tydal", counterparty not named
1225 JunVolta adopts the articles that fix every price, including the Series A at US$1,769.9115/sh. 155,000 Strategic at US$500/sh, US$77.5mm, plus 8,000 to Genesis Cloud. a16z takes two seats, Altimeter one
1329 JunBitdeer announces that Tydal Data Center AS, its wholly-owned subsidiary, has executed the lease with the then-unnamed tenant. Not yet effective
1414 to 17 JulVolta issues 75,992 Series A at US$1,769.9115/sh, US$134.5mm, and 80,000 Strategic at US$500/sh, US$40mmVolta's capital-markets hires join in July
1521 JulBitdeer: lease still conditional, tenant still unnamed
1623 JulRodríguez-Heredia takes the seventh seat
174 AugBitdeer announces the lease terms and names Volta Tydal AS as tenant: 16 years, US$202 per kW per month, US$4.7bn base term. No effective date statedVolta announces the customer (Anthropic, about US$10bn over six years, per Bloomberg), the letters of credit of about US$1.3bn as anticipated, NVIDIA and Dell, the US$5bn chip programme, J.P. Morgan and MilbankVolta says it has about 100 staff
1826 AugBitdeer: letters still anticipated
1931 Dec 2026, 31 Mar 2027Bitdeer delivers the building in two phases, targets

Appendix D. Not executed, on the record

#ItemWhat is reportedStatus
1A J.P. Morgan-led US$5bn debt packageEarly outreach to lenders, Bloomberg 27 AugustNothing signed. Borrower, security and terms not disclosed
2The chip programme's vehicleUS$5bn "AI Infrastructure Program" with AzoraAnnounced 4 August. No vehicle, form, filing or money moved
3The letters of creditAbout US$1.3bn arranged by two banksAnticipated as of 26 August. Bitdeer may terminate the lease if milestones are missed

Appendix E. Deduced, not on the record

Our read, each with what it rests on.

  1. The lease was signed with the 25 June package, in one negotiation. Bitdeer's 29 June filing reports it as already executed, and a filing takes days to prepare.
  2. The round was done on 25 June, not only priced. The articles adopted that day name the investors, seat their directors, fix the price and define a second completion under a shareholders' agreement. Articles like that are adopted under signed documents.
  3. The letters of credit were arranged as part of the site package. The lease carries the credit milestones and a termination right if they are missed. "Anticipated" in August means not yet issued.
  4. The chip programme was designed by 25 June. Volta dates it to the second quarter, and a16z said the company was assembling site, project equity and infrastructure debt when it invested.
  5. The customer signed between 29 June and 4 August. The lease was conditional on the customer on 29 June and the terms were published, as Bitdeer had promised "upon effectiveness", on 4 August.
  6. What the seed paid for: payroll and deal costs, with most of it still in the bank on 25 June. No deposit to Bitdeer, NVIDIA, Dell or a bank is on the record. Headcount by month is not on the record; the sixteen-plus by end of March and the US$0.5mm per month are our estimates from the named hires and their likely pay.
  7. Who bought the 25 June Strategic tranche: a16z and Altimeter. Their board-seat thresholds in the articles add to exactly 155,000 shares, and no Series A shares existed until July.
  8. That Bitdeer's March and May tenant negotiations were with Volta. Volta's site companies were formed on 2 and 17 March and the lease was signed by 29 June.

Appendix F. Words used above

Convertible loan
Money lent to the company that turns into shares at the next priced round instead of being repaid.
Pre-money
The value put on the company before the new money goes in, the round price times the shares already in issue.
Strategic tranche
The shares sold at US$500 to investors who came in for the relationship, with no board seats.
Series A
The institutional round, here priced at US$1,769.91/sh with a16z and Altimeter taking board seats.
Articles
The company's constitution, filed at Companies House, which here also wrote in the share prices and the board seats.
Conditional lease
A signed lease that only starts to bind once stated conditions are met, here the tenant's customer and supplier arrangements.
Effective
The point at which a signed contract's obligations start to run.
Standby letter of credit
A bank's promise to pay the landlord on demand if the tenant defaults, with the bank then recovering from the tenant.
Chip programme
A pool of outside capital meant to buy the GPUs so the company's own equity does not.
Set-off
Paying for shares by cancelling money the company already owes the buyer.
Allotment return
The Companies House form that records new shares issued, their price and the period they were issued in.
Shelf company
A ready-made company bought from a formation agent and renamed.

Sources: Companies House filings for Volta Infrastructure Holdings Limited (company 16953078), Bitdeer Technologies Group SEC filings and releases, the Norwegian register, Volta's 4 August 2026 release, a16z's 4 August statement, LinkedIn posts by named staff, Bloomberg on the customer. Rewritten 8 September 2026 by Claude Fable 5.1 for Alan, Wendy and Terrence.